Featured in:

The New York Times Book Review

The New Yorker / Vanity Fair

Vogue / Elle / Marie Claire

W Magazine / Page Six / NY Post

Southern Living / Condé Nast Traveler

Refinery 29 / Book Riot

Open Letters Monthly / Wash. Ind. Rev of Books

Hello Giggles / Book Chatter

Mr & Mrs Smith / Omaha World-Herald

* * *

"Written for a new era of uncertainty, in which there's much to believe in and little to depend on."

                                           -- Vogue

"A razor-sharp debut"

                                   -- W

"A chilling portrait of privilege and secrets"

                                                -- Marie Claire

"A surprising delight...it's rare to see suspense and literary lyricism woven together so well"

                                         -- Kirkus

"An absolutely invigrating debut...Debut seasons seldom turn out books this strong."

                                    -- Open Letters Monthly

"This is an amazing book. It's rare to encounter such mature insight into as interesting and complex characters as these. Anyone who is fascinated by human crossovers and transformations will be thankful for We Shall Not All Sleep."

-- Gail Godwin, author of FLORA

"From the first sentence, WE SHALL NOT ALL SLEEP whisks us off to the arcane world of the Quicks and the Hillsingers on Seven Island, a place alive with elaborate, arbitrary traditions and political and emotional tensions. Effortlessly interweaving intergenerational stories and cold war intrigue, the book explores the crossing of thresholds - between hearts and life stages, between islands and ideologies -  and what such transitions cost.  Torn between their desires as individuals and their duties to their wider group, Nagy’s subtly drawn characters struggle to negotiate the gap between visible and invisible rules; between information and true understanding. Written with an exquisitely light touch, the result is an utterly compelling novel from a brilliant new voice.”

M.L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS


Click to Order

Click to Order